

CONFIRMED MINUTES

Special Meeting held on 23 October 2023



SHIRE OF CHRISTMAS ISLAND MEETING MINUTES CERTIFICATION

Minutes of the Special meeting of the Shire of Christmas Island Council held at the George Fam Chambers at 10.00am on Monday 23 October 2023

Agenda No.	Item		
1	DECLARATION OF OPENING/ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS 1.1 SHIRE CEO DECLARED THE MEETING OPEN AT 10.00AM		
2	Record of Attendances/Apologies/Leave of Absence Granted/Declaration of Financial/Proximity & Impartiality Interests 2.1 Record of Attendance 2.2 Leave of Absence 2.3 Apology	1	
3	DECLARATION OF FINANCIAL/IMPARTIALITY/PROXIMITY INTEREST		
4	PUBLIC QUESTION TIME		
5	BUSINESS OF THE MEETING5.1SWEARING IN OF NEWLY ELECTED COUNCILLORS5.2ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT5.3ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT5.4ELECTION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS5.5SEATING ARRANGEMENTS	1	
6	CLOSURE OF MEETING THE MEETING CLOSED AT 10.53AM	4	
7	DATE OF NEXT ORDINARY MEETING: 24 OCTOBER 2023	4	

TABLE OF CONTENTS



CONFIRMED MINUTES

Special Meeting of the Shire of Christmas Island held at the George Fam Chambers at 10.00am on Monday 23 October 2023

1 DECLARATION OF OPENING

1.1 The Chief Executive Officer (CEO), David Price declared the meeting opened at 10.00 am.

2 RECORD OF ATTENDANCE/APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE/ DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

2.1 **Record of Attendance** Chief Executive Officer/Returning Officer

Councillors

David **PRICE**

Cr Gordon **THOMSON** Cr Kee Heng **FOO** Cr Hafiz **MASLI** Cr Vincent Cheng-Siew **SAW**

Newly Elected Councillors

Cr **LEE** Kelvin Kok Bin Cr **YON** Azmi Cr **TUNG** Swee (Mel) Cr **PEREIRA** Steven

- 2.2 Leave of Absence Nil
- 2.3 Apologies Nil
- 3 Declarations of Financial/Impartiality/Proximity Interest Nil
- 4 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME Nil

5 BUSINESS OF THE MEETING

5.1 Swearing in of newly elected Councillors

5.1.1 Councillor Kelvin Kok Bin LEE was called upon by the CEO to complete his declaration as an elected member to take the office and to duly, faithfully, honestly and with integrity fulfil the duties of the office for the people in the district according to the best of his judgement and ability and to observe the code of conduct adopted by the Shire of Christmas Island under section 5.103 of the Local Government Act 1995 (WA)(CI).

Councillor Kelvin Kok Bin LEE was sworn in for a four year term, ending October 15th 2027.

5.1.2 Councillor Azmi YON was called upon by the CEO to complete his declaration as an elected member to take the office and to duly, faithfully, honestly and with integrity fulfil the duties of the office for the people in the district according to the best of his judgement and ability and to

observe the code of conduct adopted by the Shire of Christmas Island under section 5.103 of the Local Government Act 1995 (WA)(CI).

Councillor Azmi YON was sworn in for a four year term, ending October 15th 2027.

5.1.3 Councillor Swee (Mel) TUNG was called upon by the CEO to complete her declaration as an elected member to take the office and to duly, faithfully, honestly and with integrity fulfil the duties of the office for the people in the district according to the best of her judgement and ability and to observe the code of conduct adopted by the Shire of Christmas Island under section 5.103 of the Local Government Act 1995 (WA)(CI).

Councillor Swee (Mel) TUNG was sworn in for a four year term, ending October 15th 2027.

5.1.4 Councillor Steven PEREIRA was called upon by the CEO to complete his declaration as an elected member to take the office and to duly, faithfully, honestly and with integrity fulfil the duties of the office for the people in the district according to the best of his judgement and ability and to observe the code of conduct adopted by the Shire of Christmas Island under section 5.103 of the Local Government Act 1995 (WA)(CI).

Councillor Steven PEREIRA was sworn in for a four year term, ending October 15th 2027.

5.2 **Election of Shire President**

The CEO, David PRICE acted as Returning Officer for the election of Shire President and called for nominations for the Shire President.

Cr THOMSON nominated himself for Shire President and Cr PEREIRA nominated by Cr TUNG for Shire President.

The CEO advised that it would have to go to a secret ballot.

The meeting was adjourned to prepare the ballot papers at 10.13am.

The meeting was resumed at 10.18am.

The CEO handed out a ballot paper to each Councillor. Councillors voted and folded their ballot papers. The ballots were then collected and counted by the CEO who advised there are 6 votes for Cr THOMSON and 2 votes for Cr PEREIRA. Cr THOMSON was declared elected as the Shire President.

The CEO called upon Cr THOMSON to read out his affirmation.

Councillor THOMSON declared that having been elected as the Shire President he will take up office with honesty and integrity to fulfil his duty and to observe the Local Government Rules and Regulation 2007 WA CI on this day 23 October 2023 at the Shire Council Chambers.

Councillor THOMSON was sworn in as the Shire President.

5.3 Election of Deputy Shire President

The CEO, David PRICE acted as Returning Officer for the election of Shire Deputy President and called for nominations for the Shire Deputy President.

Cr THOMSON nominated Cr YON, Cr PEREIRA nominated Cr TUNG and Cr LEE nominated Cr FOO for Shire Deputy President. Cr FOO declined the nomination.

The CEO advised that it would have to go to a secret ballot.

The meeting was adjourned to prepare the ballot paper at 10.25am.

Shire of Christmas Island |Confirmed Minutes for 23 October 2023 Special Council Meeting 2/4

The meeting was resumed at 10.30am.

The CEO handed out a ballot paper to each Councillor. Councillors voted and folded their ballot papers. The ballots were then collected and counted by the CEO who advised that there are 6 votes for Cr YON and 2 votes for Cr TUNG. Cr YON was declared elected as the Shire Deputy President.

The CEO called upon Cr YON to read out his affirmation.

Councillor YON declared that having been elected as the Shire Deputy President he will take up office with honesty and integrity to fulfil his duty and to observe the Local Government Rules and Regulation 2007 WA CI on this day 23 October 2023 at the Shire Council Chambers.

Councillor YON was sworn in as the Shire Deputy President.

President Cr THOMSON took the Chair.

5.4 Election of Committee Members

Council Re	solution				
Moved: Cr YON		Seconded: Cr LEE	Res. No:	83/23	
The item for Election of Committee Members is to be deferred to the Ordinary Council Meeting on 24 October 2023.					
Carried:	8/0 For – Crs THOMSON, LEE, PERE Against -None	EIRA, TUNG, LEE, SAW, FOO	and MASLI		

5.5 Seating Arrangements

Council Resolution						
Moved: Cr	YON	Seconded: Cr LEE	Res. No:	84/23		
That a ballot for the sitting arrangements be conducted.						
Carried:	8/0					
	For – Crs THOMSON, LEE, PEREIRA, TUNG, LEE, SAW, FOO and MASLI					
	Against -None					

The President called on the CEO to prepare a ballot for the sitting arrangements and to conduct the ballot. Meeting was adjourned meeting for that purpose at 10.37am

The meeting resumed 10.45 am and the CEO reported the results of the ballot for the seating arrangement.

Council Res	olution			
Moved: Cr YON		Seconded: Cr LEE	Res. No:	85/23
That the seati	ng arrangements as determined b	y the ballot be agreed.		
Carried:	8/0			
	For - Crs THOMSON, LEE, PEREI	RA, TUNG, LEE, SAW, FOO and	MASLI	
	Against -None			

6 CLOSURE OF MEETING

The meeting closed at 10.53am

7 DATE OF THE NEXT ORDINARY MEETING

7.1 The date of the next Council Meeting is 24 October 2023 at 7.00 pm.